Share | 

Has this ever happened in the UK?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Grafter

Number of posts : 2114
Registration date : 2007-12-07

PostSubject: Has this ever happened in the UK?    Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:54 pm

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://forum.pewispeedway.eu/&prev=search
(Sorry link not working properly. Just click on general and go down a couple of topics to Kollum)
Back to top Go down
carlton

Number of posts : 1575
Registration date : 2007-09-14

PostSubject: Re: Has this ever happened in the UK?    Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:31 pm

Not that I am aware of Grafter, but it is a further sign of Health and Safety getting involved in every day life, not just here but in Europe as well.

I am by trade a bricklayer, been a long time since i have been on the tools as they say, but hey ho.

As a bricklayer you new you could not lay bricks in the rain because the mortar wouldnt set, and ran and everything fell down or got very messy and un tidy.

You couldn't lay bricks when it was below three degrees because the cold weather and air froze the water in the mortar, nothing set and everything would blow and it would end up messy and un tidy and wouldnt be a good job.

The only time you could really build houses really fast and well was the summer when everything was dry and hot, nothing would collapse or be messy.

Now because you have to wear all the health and safety gear, hard hats, long sleeve shirts, full length trousers, steel toe capped boots health and safety officers in some parts of the country have stopped brick layers from working when it gets above 30 degrees as they might faint from heat exhaustion due to having to wear excessive amounts of ppe ( personnel protection equipment).